Wondering How and If Pinterest Can Work For Your Business?

Pinterest

 

Pinterest.

It’s the latest social media rage. I’ ve heard it referred to as “the on-line magazine I always dreamed I would create” to “it’s like crack for chicks.”

Truth be told, Pinterest is not just for sharing yummy looking recipes and home decorating ideas. There is a real value to Pinterest and what it does on a business level. The latest installment of Copyblogger summed it up nicely:

Pinterest: For going viral

Are you obsessed with Pinterest yet? Pin + interest = Pinterest. It’s a digital pin board site where users “pin” their favorite images to themed boards. You can follow other users’ boards and “re-pin” their content.

I run a little travel blog on the side because I’m working on breaking into travel writing. Pinterest and its cult following seemed like the perfect place to showcase my own travel photography in hopes of a little viral action.

So I created a Pinterest account for my travel blog and I pinned my images to boards like “Pretty Travel Pics” and “Must-Do Travel Experiences.”

I pinned other people’s images, too. This isn’t all about me — you gotta show some love to get some love.

My personal photography has been re-pinned oodles of times and every pic links back to my travel blog. Instant traffic.

If I’m lucky, my pins will appear on the Pinterest home page. Just another unusual way to get my name out there.

Takeaway: Image-based sites like Pinterest, Flickr, and Instagram aren’t just for photographers. If you’re a food blogger, showcase pics of your best recipes. If you’re a tech reporter, gather images of your favorite gadgets.”

Leave a Reply

